Particle physics laboratory

Over 60 Lab Staff Recognized With DOE Secretary’s Honor Awards – Los Alamos Reporter

DOE Sec. Jennifer M. Granholm/Courtesy Photo


More than 60 personnel from four different teams at Los Alamos National Laboratory recently received honorary awards from Department of Energy Secretary Jennifer M. Granholm — the highest honor an employee or contractor from the DOE can receive.

“Receiving this award is an exceptional achievement,” said lab director Thom Mason. “These teams illustrate the commitment to excellence that has always characterized the Laboratory, and they should be proud of this well-deserved recognition.

The four Los Alamos teams that received awards were the W76-2 Modification Team, the National Ignition Facility Team Burning Plasma Team, the Nuclear Incident Response Stabilization Team and the Materials Removal Team at the Lovelace Biomedical Research Institute.

The DOE Secretary’s Awards formally recognize the outstanding achievements of individuals and teams who have gone above and beyond in fulfilling the DOE’s mission. The laboratory employees who have been recognized are:

W76-2 Modification Team

In recognition of the team’s tireless dedication to designing the submarine-launched W76 warhead to have a low-yield capability.

Petr Volegov
Justin Scott
Pete Pitman
Rob Baron
Candace Joggers
Andrew Marshall
Kevin Buechele
Karen Kelley

Burn Plasma in National Ignition Facility Team

In recognition of the team’s first-ever achievement at the National Ignition Facility at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory. The team made advances in lasers, diagnostics, targets, and the physical understanding of capsule coupling and compression that, when combined, resulted in a threefold increase in fusion performance within months.

Noah Birge
Hans Hermann
Young Kim
Hermann Geppert-Kleinrath
Verena Geppert-Kleinrath
John Klin
Kevin Meaney
Carl Wilde
Petr Volegov

Nuclear Incident Response Stabilization Team

In recognition of the team’s extraordinary dedication to implementing the National Security Council-led “Capability Forward” initiative, field equipment and training of WMD teams massive in 14 major metropolitan areas of the United States.

Glenn Griggs
Samuel Gonzales
Victoria Duncan
Charles Gibson

Lovelace Biomedical Research Institute Materials Removal Team

In recognition of the exceptional efforts of the team to collaborate at the federal, state and local levels to safely remove radioactive materials from the Lovelace Biomedical Research Institute under an intense and time-limited schedule during the pandemic of COVID-19.

Cristy Abeyta
Marc McCleskey
patrick fitch
Robert Margevicius
Andrea Martinez
David McCumber
Eisha Herrera
Stephanie Archuleta
Gary Lauten
Craig Taylor
Leonard Manzanares
Marki Martinez
Markilee Martinez-Zambrano
Francois Martin
David Potter
Nathaniel Chanteau
Darlene Valdez
Miller Wylie
Ning Xu
Sean French
Dylan Klundt
Cathy Babcock
Harold Chacon
Michael Romero
Douglas Thacker
Chris James
Fabien Anaia
Joshua Mares
Rick Romero
Leon Trujillo
Donald Thorp
Joe Abeyta
Rudy Abeyta
Jason Gentry
urban hill
Count Martinez
Onesimo Martinez
Lawrence McCubbins, Jr.
Michael Rivera
Jose Trujillo
Jason Wohlberg